About this blog Subscribe to this blog

Update: Journalism Fellowship Applications Due Jan. 31

Spencer fellows 2010The annual Spencer Education Journalism Fellowship luncheon took place a couple of weeks ago and those alumni in attendance made up a veritable who's who of education reporting. They included Liz Bowie (Balt Sun), Greg Toppo (USA Today), Dana Goldstein (Slate, Nation), Sarah Garland (Hechinger), Trey Kay (NPR).  Those not able to make it -- Sarah Carr, Peg Tyre, Elizabeth Green, among others -- are an equally impressive lot.  (That's the 2010 crew pictured right.)

Latest Spencer news: Greg Toppo just got a book contract for his learning games book and is joining the Spencer advisory board. Dana Goldstein just turned in her completed manuscript. Sarah Garland has a very cute baby. Current Spencers Jamaal Abdul-Alim, Lauren Smith Camera, and Annie Murphy Paul were all there, too.

All this to say that the Spencer Fellowship is up again for 2014-2015 and if you think you have the stuff to make it through Evidence and Inference and Sam Freedman's book writing workshop you should apply.  Seriously.Your idea is great.  You're totally qualified.  The competition isn't too tough. (Plus which, the Nieman deadline is already passed.)


See the latest press release below. Don't forget.  


The Columbia School of Journalism offers three education journalists an annual $75,000 fellowship to spend a year at the school pursuing projects that examine crucial issues in American education. The projects can take the form of a book, a print newspaper or magazine article or a radio broadcast.

Students will complete coursework on campus during the fall semester and spend the spring semester working on their projects. Professor LynNell Hancock, a national expert on covering education, children and families, works closely with the Spencer Fellows to develop their coursework throughout the year. Participants also are assigned an adviser who acts as a writing coach and editor.


Applications are online and are due on Jan. 31. Journalists who are covering education issues in the United States are eligible.


Shaye Areheart, Director of Programs, Columbia Journalism School, 2950 Broadway, New York, NY 10027 212-854-1898sea2148@columbia.edu

Previous posts: New Spencer Fellows, New Research TopicsToppo Learning Games Book Gets Green LightWhat's Next For The Spencer Fellowship?


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in This Week In Education are strictly those of the author and do not reflect the opinions or endorsement of Scholastic, Inc.